top of page
搜尋
作家相片jiayic20

Week 3 Reflection:Habits of Mind

Curiosity

Lots of readings help to develop my desire to know about the world, including lecture videos about how advertisement affect people's perceptions of beauty and gender roles and reading about how Disney construct individuals’ norm. These sources provide me with perspectives of beauty and gender role that I had never thought of before and motivate my curiosity to further know about it.

Openness

Reviewing peers' work is a good way to absorb new opinions since they make clear interpretations of their argument with specific examples so that I was convinced by their statements and receive new ideas.

Engagement

I learnt how to be engaged in reading by the instructions on reading assignment. In particular, not only should we combine reading with examples in the real life, but also ask questions when not understand, which can both stimulate deeper understanding of reading.

Creativity

I think I didn't do a good job in accomplishing the assignments creatively because all of my work were done in a general way and I am not a person full of creativity. From now on, I should try to get rid of representing my work in a familiar way and do it differently.

Persistence

We have both short-term and long-term assignments and I am still getting used to it. Final portfolio will be completed through the quarter and helps to develop my persistence in doing long-term work.

Flexibility

The weekly assignments we are doing differ in the forms. I develop my skill in doing various assignments, such as peer review, exploratory writing, readings and so on. In particular, for exploratory writing, adding images into the argument helps to demonstrate ideas more vividly and make it easier for others to understand your writing.



Responsibility

Once I was late for my work and late work will cut off some points if this happens several times. Thus, everyone should be responsible for their actions and understand the results arose from it.

Metacognition

We make reflections every week and it helps me to go over what have been done in the past week and think about what can be improved in the following weeks, which greatly consolidate my knowledge.

28 次查看4 則留言

4 Comments


Wei Huang
Wei Huang
Feb 01, 2021

Hi Jiayi! I can relate to how you weren’t able to be creative with your assignments. Especially since a lot of assignments just require us to answer in a very general way, so there really isn’t a need to be creative. I have difficulty thinking outside the box so its extra hard to be creative.

Like

Ruihan Wang
Ruihan Wang
Jan 31, 2021

Hi Jiayi!

I believe you can develop your creativity skill very well in the next assignments of this writing class. Besides, I totally agree with your points in the "flexibility" part, since I can also feel doing several assignments in this class helps us greatly develop this skill.

Like

Kelly Deng
Jan 30, 2021

Hi, Jiayi! I appreciate your comments about your thinking of metacognition. I wrote about something similar and said self-reflection allows us to better understand what we have learned, and to recognize our own shortcomings and points of confusion. In this way, we can make up for it in time and complete the subsequent assignment efficiently.

Like

Zoe Zeng
Zoe Zeng
Jan 30, 2021

Hi Jiayi! I totally agree with your comments about openness! I had several times that I was convinced by other classmates' comments and thoughts. And I like how your habit of persistence and responsibility is related to the assignments we have. Deadlines push us to do better!

Like
bottom of page