top of page
搜尋
作家相片jiayic20

Week 2 Reflection: Reading Various texts and Peer Review

From the past two weeks, we did various types of assignment, including reading articles and watching lectures, finishing exploratory writing and responding to classmate’s writing. In the process accomplishing these assignments, I gained a lot and become closer to the course objectives.


First, I “practice metacognitive reading of a variety of texts, both public discourse and academic discourse.” For example, I read Killing Us Softly 4 by Jean Kilbourne, a video introduces how advertisement shape our values for beauty and gender. While watching videos, I made annotations about how I feel about a specific sentence, based on my personal experience and ideas in my mind. By leaving thoughtful annotations, I find myself obtaining a better understanding for the source since it motivates my thinking and helps me to interact with the context.


Moreover, I “understand and practice the conventions of scholarly discourse.” One of the assignments is to read the article “Looking into the Magic of Mirror: Disney’s Impact on the Fairy Tale Genre” by Linda Hass and Shaina Trapedo, which is a scholarly passage not easy to follow. With the suggested method in Connect, I tried to first guess the main idea of the article by analyzing the topic and make comments when I feel confused about something. Later, I became more engaged in the article and a better understanding about it.


Last, I “understand the importance of peer review to the composing process and develop effective peer review skills.” The screenshot shows my comment for my peers and I appreciate their responses since they give me other perspectives of the same issue and express it in the way I had never thought before. They also help to motivate my inspirations for my own work so that I can utilize them into my next composing.


13 次查看2 則留言

2 Comments


Yun Chen
Yun Chen
Feb 01, 2021

Hi Jiayi

I have same feeling that after these assignments that we have done with class I understand more about the course objective. So at the beginning I feel there are so many works need to be done, but right now I kind feel they all worthy to do it.

Like

Chengheng Lyu
Chengheng Lyu
Jan 20, 2021

Hi, I like your post. This week I spent lots of time on writing. It's not like the writing I had when I was in AE 20 series. It's time-cusuming. Don't you think?

Like
bottom of page