top of page
搜尋
作家相片jiayic20

New start of writing course

Hi everyone! My name is Jiayi Chen and I am currently a sophomore majoring in mathematics. I spent my past 20 years in Zhejiang, China and I am looking forward to learning something new from this class.


The last English course I took before Wring 39A was AC English 20C in spring 2020, more than half year ago so I fail to remember all the stuff clearly, but I remember one of the objectives is to choose a topic and talk about what is will be like in the future. In order to finish that essay, I research for various information from different source, which greatly helps to improve the ability to integrate diverse source. In addition, we have many weekly group assignments, from which I have a better understanding of collaboration and find the appropriate approach to promote efficiency in group work.


One of my problem in writing is that it takes me a long time to think about how to organize words and sentences. For example, I spent two or more times of time than others to write an essay and the most of extra time came from considering how to express my feelings in appropriate words. In order to improve efficiency, I set up a time limit before I start to do my assignment and forced myself to finish it in that limited time. Then, I reduced time in deciding which words to use because I want to accomplish it on time. However, I have a good habit of writing an outline before writing the body passage and it contributes to clear organization of my article.


I was surprised to see my diagnostic result because it was less than what I expect. Analyzing the result, I find most of mistakes are related to the use of punctuations, such as the quotation mark, comma. Also, there are some error due to my carelessness and I should pay attention to it in the future.


The syllabus introduces some main platforms and work we will do this quarter as well as course policies. The professor also shares some tips on how to succeed in this course and ways we can ask for help. According to course objective, we are expected to improve the skill of reading and writing. It is also important to learn other soft skills, like communication, and promote “Habits of Mind”. Grade contract suggests that we are guaranteed with 84 if we meet requirements. We can also boost our final grade by doing extra credit or getting 11 points on weekly assignments.


34 次查看4 則留言

4件のコメント


mingchm
2021年1月18日

Hi Jiayi, It's interesting to see and learn form what other peple did in thier reading class. Thanks for sharing your experiance.

いいね!

yuzhenl2
2021年1月17日

Hi Jiayi,

I like your style of your website. It is so clear and logical. Referring to your post, I got the same problem as yours. I always did not well in organizing sentences. And in your last paragraph, I agree with you that the syllabus for this course is efficient because it lists all things we should done in process.

いいね!

Jenny Kim
Jenny Kim
2021年1月17日

Hi Jiayi,

I admire the work that you put in to write your essays. It must be difficult as an International student to convey your ideas into English. I like how you talked about researching various source which I think is very important. I think that getting information from various points of view can help us create our own opinions as writers.

いいね!

yifeip5
2021年1月14日

I understand you spent a long time thinking about how to organize words and sentences, and I am the same. I think your writing method is very good, such as "In order to improve efficiency, I set a time limit, and then I start homework, and force myself to complete the task within this limited time."

いいね!
bottom of page